Detachment 875 | Air Force ROTC

Virginia Tech Aviation Wall of Fame

Wall Of Fame

The Aviation Wall of Fame is a memorial dedicated to recognizing Virginia Tech Alumni who have distinguished themselves through contributions, service, and sacrifice in the field of aviation and aerospace. Generations of Virginia Tech Alumni have served the nation with distinction.

Every September, Virginia Tech’s AFROTC detachment 875 hosts a ceremony to induct a Virginia Tech Alumnus who has made important contributions in one or more of the following areas:

  1. Significant leadership in the development of aircraft, aeronautical design, spacecraft
  2. Personal heroism through aviation
  3. Significant accomplishment as a commercial or military aviator
  4. Significant contributions to the field of aviation, aircraft design, or space travel

Past Honorees:

1996 - LTJG John B. McKay USN VPI 1950
1997 - 2LT Robert E. Femoyer USA VPI 1944
1998 - Homer H, Hickam Jr. VPI 1964
1999 - Walter L. Sanders VPI 1961
2000 - James C. Dieffenderfer VPI 1941
2001 - Henry B. Kucheman Jr. VPI 1949
2002 - Col Glenn A Smith VPI 1959
2003 - Col Hubert M. Blair VPI 1939
2004 - Col Charles E. Blair VPI 1949
2005 - Gen Thomas C. Richanrds VPI 1956
2006 - Maj General Henry C. Smyth Jr. VPI 1949
2007 - John B. Lee VPI 1945
2008 - LeRoy T. Burrows VPI 1960
2009 - Maj Frank H. McFadden USMCR VPI 1948
2010 - Gen Lance L. Smith USAF VPI 1969
2011 - Col James P. Beard USAF VPI 1954
2012 - Brig Gen W. Park Lemmond USAF VPI 1954
2013 - Col Frank Ayers VPI 1974

If you are would like to nominate yourself or someone else who meets the previous requirements, then please download and print the application (Word) (PDF) and send it to:

Aviation Wall of Fame
Air Force ROTC, Virginia Tech
320 Stanger St.
Blacksburg, VA  24061-0204